Early Years Foundation Stage

In the Early Years, the children follow the Early Years Statutory Framework.

Under the framework, there are 7 areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in Early Years settings. All areas of learning are important and inter-connected.

Three areas are particularly important for buuilding a foundation for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships and thriving.

The prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

We must also support our children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

The specific areas are:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • undertsanding the world
  • expressive arts and design